University of Michigan Social of Social Work Fall 2016

SWinMI

Hi everyone! I created this thread to get in contact with other people who have or plan to apply. I just submitted my application for Interpersonal Mental Health for Fall 2016. I know I won't hear back for a long time, but I still want to hear from others and their experiences! 

• 2 months later...

Hey, I just started an account here. I applied in late November, and submitted applications to both the Detroit Clinical Scholars program and to the Community-Based Initiative in Detroit. I have a lot of macro experience, and would love doing that work, but also believe I would benefit from a stronger clinical foundation. Either way, I know I want to work with youth in Detroit (where I'm from). 

I just requested an interview -- it's scheduled for January 5th. I have a lot of relevant experience, but my GPA is only a 3.3, so I'm nervous. A faculty member told me I'd do well to interview, so I can explain why my grades are low. It was really one semester that messed me up, when I was sick. Other than that, I've got all As in my current BSW program. 

Anyways, I'm super anxious about this whole process, and hoping I can make it. Glad to connect with you on here! 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi lancehicks,

I'm trying to decide if I should ask for an interview.  I applied late November and I think I need to interview to explain my situation.

Gook luck on your interview and if you could please let me how it went and how it was structured.  I'm so fearful of going on that interview.....it's so much pressure!

Thanks!!!

Edited by umichMSW

I will be submitting my MSW application by this Friday. I'm applying for the dual degree program to concurrently earn an MPP through the Ford School, so my concentration will be Social Policy & Evaluation. I also plan to apply for the National Community Scholars Program.