Oxford Population Health chances? Canadian student.

jayzpole

tl;dr Want to apply to Four Year (Fully) Funded DPhil in Population Health at Oxford. 3.5 Canadian GPA (translates to above 3.5 US GPA minimum requirement). Strong upward climb in grades. Plenty of healthcare work experience, but no publications (yet). Lots of volunteer activities throughout undergrad. Strong writer, good interviewer, good LORs (all academic). Should I get in, I'll accept if I receive >80% of tuition covered + some money for stipend.

I know, I know, I know...some of you hate "what are my chances" threads, but I find writing them very cathartic in the middle of a hectic applications season.

I'm studying in a (supposedly) prestigious and competitive program at a Canadian university. I took a 5th year to boost my GPA. I'm currently sitting at a 3.48, and will likely graduate with a 3.52/3.53. My grades suffered during my freshman and sophomore years due to parents divorcing + an eating disorder. Neither of these issues have fully subsided, but I learned how to cope effectively. Thus, my grades have been climbing steeply since junior year. I'll have a ~3.9 GPA in my last two full-time years of study.

Although my end goal is medicine, I always planned to do a degree in Public Health either before medical school or part-time during clinical practice. I think having clinical experience and knowledge is essential to properly inform health policy. Furthermore, public health seems like a great way to combine my interests in both medicine and the social sciences.