Fall 2016 Geography Applications

nevermind

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm glad this thread got started!

My research interests are in critical geography---I want to study the pervasive effect of governmentality and settler colonialism upon the lives Native Americans, as well as the acts of resistance and resilience that Native Americans have taken against this colonial governmentality.

I'm applying to Minnesota, Wisconsin-Madison, Ohio State, Syracuse, Kentucky and Kansas. All are top programs but I have faith I'll at least get into one of those programs...

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I am interested in Remote Sensing and GIS and their application for Land surface studies, surface hydrology and natural hazards predictions. I am a PhD applicant and I am actively searching for positions in my area of interest for Fall 2016. My background is as following:

- GRE: 151 Q, 146 V

- TOEFL iBT 90

- GPA 3.7

- 2 published papers in peer reviewed journals

• 2 weeks later...

I finished my Ph.D. apps in Geography...applying to Oregon & Wisconsin-Madison (with applications in History/Science Studies elsewhere). 

My research interests are human geography, water technology, environmental history (specifically focusing on the Middle East), religious history and identity, political ecology, resource conflict and territoriality, and STS.

I have two Master's degrees, one (no-name institution, religion) with a 3.7 and one (Ivy, agriculture and development) with a 3.99 GPA. My B.A. (English and religion) was an atrocious 2.85 (cumulative), but at least it is from almost 15 years ago. :)

My GRE scores are a little mixed: 165 (verbal), 148 (quant), and a 4.5 AW. 

-1 published paper (in a book that was published from a conference I presented at), 1 poster contribution 

-Adjunct 6 courses (in English and Religion)