Rangel & Pickering Fellowship

kbui

• 2 weeks later...
On 11/2/2015, 11:11:58, kbui said:

I'll be trying my luck this year with these two fellowships (along with MPP programs). Anybody else in the same boat?

I'm applying for the Pickering! I don't have much hope, but I heard that they look favorably on people who have applied several times so this is my trial run for next year. I'm an undergrad so I don't have to cross my fingers for this application process.

That doesn't mean that this isn't incredibly nervewracking! Have you noticed that the Pickering is on a new website this year? The whole application seems to revolve around the statement of purpose, but they only give you two lines as a prompt! I looked up the information from last year and the statement of purpose was very different. They asked for a lot more and gave you two pages. I wonder if it's advisable to follow the older prompt because the current one is just so vague!

Can I ask what your experience with this is? It sounds like you're applying for grad schools, right? What's your major?

I go to an untraditional school so we don't have major's precisely, but I'm studying Turkish Studies and Geography. 

I feel pretty unprepared for something like this. It seems that all the people who've won before were so amazing. And the numbers are so small. But I think it's always great to reach as high as you can because you never know!