Misconstrued Apathy...

I graduated with my BA from SFSU last December 2014 in Anthropology and a minor in Philosophy. I had previously always intended on going to grad school, but my last year-year and a half of school really had me disillusioned. The professors I had were crackpots espousing modern theory in anth and I hated it. Further, none of my work ever seemed good enough- I'd get the As, sure, but not without tons of red throughout the whole work. I needed some time off.

I got a job working at a oh-so-trendy tech start up and slowly realized how unhappy I was, being out of school. I missed delving in to literature explaining behaviors through culture, biology, etc etc. I worked in a hostile environment that diffused any creativity or learning. So I decided in mid June that I was going to attend grad school, and I wanted to matriculate Fall 2016, so I started studying for the GRE so I could apply this fall. People recommended studying for three months, so I decided to do this and see how comfortable I felt at the end of it before registering for a test date. I wish people told you how quickly seats sell out, because the only date I could find was 2 weeks later. I registered because I was scared, but ended up changing it to a riskier date (November 6th, in two days) so I could really use the month of September and October to study. Long story short, here I am, and I'm nowhere near where I should be in my percentiles. I'm scoring 80th for verbal and 40th for math. I'm nervous because my GPA is a sickly 3.6 and I've got one crappy internship under my belt.