CGS-M 2015-1016

TKYU

Even though the deadline is less than a month away, I thought this thread might be useful for those applying for CGS-M!

Anyone else applying for CGS-M? How are the applications coming along? :) 

I posted this in another thread but I figure I might as well try here too. I'm an undergrad who is thinking about applying for CGS-M funding and I'm a bit confused by how it's structured.

Given that I've only really begun to contact profs and am in discussion with a few, how the heck does the research proposal work? If I'm not sure yet of where I want to go to grad school (and the field will vary a bit), how can I used one proposed project to apply to five different graduate programs? Until now I was under the assumption that you should first identify a professor you want to work with then craft an application based on their proposed research projects.

If someone could shed some light on this it would be greatly appreciated!

57 minutes ago, Jimtastic said:

I posted this in another thread but I figure I might as well try here too. I'm an undergrad who is thinking about applying for CGS-M funding and I'm a bit confused by how it's structured.

Given that I've only really begun to contact profs and am in discussion with a few, how the heck does the research proposal work? If I'm not sure yet of where I want to go to grad school (and the field will vary a bit), how can I used one proposed project to apply to five different graduate programs? Until now I was under the assumption that you should first identify a professor you want to work with then craft an application based on their proposed research projects.

If someone could shed some light on this it would be greatly appreciated!