How much debt is too much debt?

Thorongil

I wasn't sure where to post this, so mods can feel free to move it. I have about 30k in undergrad student loan debt, and I might have to take out an additional 5-10k (depending on if I get bumped up in my teaching appointment and some other factors) to complete my MA. Would it be worth it to carry on another year to finish the MA degree? Or should I drop out and start repaying the loans I already have? Or should I considering transferring? I'm in the humanities, by the way. 

Your thoughts would be much appreciated. 

Uck... I try not to think about my loans... What you have is not much compared to what I have. I also was not fortunate enough to be able to work while attending. Having a  learning disability means that I've got to put all I have into this stuff, and when I've been able to take on TA positions as a grad student I was informed that positions don't go to Master's students... so *shrug* In part, it is a personal decision. As far as the information I know about your average student loan amount, you're on the low side of average for someone coming out of a BA/BS.

The average undergrad student loan debt, as Google tells me, is 29,000. So I'm right smack in the average. But by finishing the MA, it could be closer to 40k. I want to know if that's a bridge too far, since I don't want to spend decades paying it off. Perhaps it is just my own personal roll of the dice....

Yeah, very personal decision.

I go in because I've tried other options and I know where I want to be. For me it is worth it to do what I love. And for me also, more down time is going to be detrimental to my over all career. For you, perhaps not.