weight of scores with tons of work experience?

doctor-to-be

I graduated with my Master's in clinical social work in late 1990s, and am working on an application for a doctorate program. My GPAs were great (eg, 3.8 out of 4 in Master's). I have an outstanding current and historical employment track in clinical psychiatry. My essay & change of career statement will be excellent. My references are great. I've heard that doctorate psychology (Psy.D) admissions are extremely competitive. Because of my age (a lot older than most people here I bet :-P), I will apply only once and to just 1 school. Their cut off/qualifying score for math and verbal general GREs is combined 305. If I get a 305-310, would that be good enough to apply? Or, would it be better to give myself more time to prepare for the GREs in order to get a 315-320? I shooting low because despite preparing A LOT for a little over a month, I've been struggling much more than expected, and got only a 297 on the first real GRE. Second GRE is scheduled for next month.  

Dear doctor-to-be, I think this is probably common enough for people who've been out of school for long. I am having the same problem. I have excellent work experience, I am going to get great references and I thought, having given myself 3 months for the GRE, I will ace it (or at least do well enough in Quant), but it didn't exactly work out that way. If I were you, I would SERIOUSLY consider applying. Don't wait for better GRE scores. Even among the top universities, at least half of them would give more importance to - as Brown describes it - 'qualitative' aspects of the application. Don't get disheartened by the GRE scores. Try your best for the second GRE round and if you get the minimum of 305 - good for you. At least you made the cut-off. If not, still apply. I think given how great the rest of your application sounds, you have a good chance. REALLY! Apply.