SOP draft for bioinformatics programs, it needs your review and help!

I am applying for bioinformatics PhD Program this month with extremely limited time to polish my SOP, If you could review my SOP and give me some advice, it will be greatly appreciated.

-----------------------------------------------

Academic Statement of Purpose:
With four years of education at East China University of Science and Technology, several years of dry lab research experiences in both biology and medicine, and great passion in bioinformatics, I am applying to your distinguished PhD program in XXX to further my research skills. 
During my first two years of college, I studied learning and memory mechanisms in nervous systems. My affection for biology and bioinformatics started since then. After reading relevant literature, I realized that mutations in genes could play a critical role in mental misbehavior. To advance my knowledge in this process, I joined Prof. __’s lab for a project studying CDKL3’s function in mental retardation. Through DNA sequence analysis in animal models, I came to know the fascinating fact that some tiny variants in gene could make a huge difference in biological pathways and physiological outcomes. Later, encouraged by Prof. __ to pursue interdisciplinary studies in biology, computer science and medicine, I joined the Laboratory of Molecular Modeling and Design. I worked on a national research project for computational prediction of drug-induced liver toxicity. The basic process is to use machine learning algorithms such as support vector machine (SVM) to produce a drug hepatotoxicity prediction model. The training dataset was derived from literature mining and manually curation. At first, molecular structure was represented by molecular descriptors such as log P and polarizability. The models, however, did not perform well regarding accuracy and AUC values. After reviewing related research works, I started to use molecular fingerprints as an alternative, wh