Social Welfare/Work PhD applicants

embe87

Figured I might start a thread here for Social Work PhD applicants! I'm submitting to two Social Work programs in addition to two programs in Education. I'm applying to UC Berkeley and USC.

Feel free to share the schools to which you're applying & the good/bad news come offer of admission time! Also welcoming any debates and deliberations . . . curious how others are choosing their "top" choices.

Best of luck with applications!

Hello! I am so happy you started this thread!

I am also pursuing a PhD in Social Welfare/Social Work. Given I'm interested in not-for-profits, specifically the relationship between the public, private and not-for-profit sectors, I'm applying to UPenn and UCLA. I'm also applying to UChicago (because I'm a sucker for beautiful mission statements, and the vibe I got from the website was very powerful!)

I am also very very very terrified . I completed my undergraduate degree in Commerce and Economics in Australia, worked for two years in an Australian Social Policy Research Centre, and recently finished my Masters in Social Policy in the UK. I am not accustomed to writing statement of purposes, afraid that my theoretical and practical knowledge of social work is lacking, and feel that perhaps I should also try the MSW route to supplement my theoretical knowledge with practical experience. But I also know that I would like to be an academic at a research intensive university, focussing on human-centric research and feeling like I'm advancing society in some way, so I must get over my insecurities and try my best!

Anyway, thanks again for starting this thread. "Follow!"