PhD in Anthro or Soc? (X posted to Anthro subforum)

mfafiction2019

I posted this thread in the Anthro subforum already, but I figured I would post it here as well. Feel free to delete one or more of the threads if they're out of place somehow.

This is pretty far into the future (as in, I probably won't be applying for programs until the fall of 2017 at least), but I'm just curious as to what kind of program I should be looking for. Currently I'm abroad (originally from the US) doing a masters degree in Social Anthropology, and my research interests can basically be boiled down to "political ethnography" "ethnography of political activism" (right now I'm working with specifically with university student activism, as the country I'm studying in has quite a unique culture of student political activity in colleges and that is basically the reason I chose to study here). I'm also interested in the general study of higher education and the university as an institution (though like I said, right now I'm focusing on political activism, but I'm also interested in non-political aspects of higher ed as well, especially "youth culture" in the university environment).