My chance of getting into PhD program in Operation Research

Anyone is going to apply for Operation Research? Would you mind sharing your profile?

Thanks a lot.

Hi

I am applying to Operations Research Programs for Fall 2010. I am focusing on schools with a strong background in areas of applied probability(stochastic processes, queueing theory etc). Glad to finally meet someone applying to OR. I am super nervous about the schools i have shortlisted.

My background:

I have an Bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering from India in 2008. Currently am pursuing MS in Applied Mathematics at Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis.

GPA

UG:6.9/10 , first class

graduate: 3.33/4(would be 3.5 by the end of this fall)

GRE

Q:790

V:380

W:4.0

TOEFL

110/120

1 intl conference proceedings, 1 poster at an annual meeting, 1 book chapter - for all of which i am the first author. Good recommendations from people in relevant areas.

------------------------

what about you?

Edited by Bharadwaj

Hi,

Glad to meet people applying to OR as well. Bharadwaj, you have a strong application, except maybe for that verbal GRE. Where are you applying to?

As for me, background:

BS from a french engineering school

GPA: N/A

MSc in Financial Mathematics from Imperial College London (with Distinction)

GRE: Q 790

V 550

AW ?? (not received the results yet)

TOEFL: 114/120

2 strong recommendations from good faculty, one less personal.

No publications but a Master's thesis for which I received a high grade

Applying to:

Berkeley

Carnegie Mellon

Columbia

Cornell

Georgia Tech

Michigan

Northwestern

Stanford

UCLA

Please share your thoughts about Schools and application strength (or lack thereof)

Hi,

Glad to meet people applying to OR as well. Bharadwaj, you have a strong application, except maybe for that verbal GRE. Where are you applying to?

As for me, background:

BS from a french engineering school

GPA: N/A