"Prereqs" For Molecular Biology Programs?

vnatch

Hello, 

I was wondering about the importance of undergrad classes that may be considered as "prereqs" for many molecular/cell bio grad school programs. I'm currently a third year student, and as most of my undergrad degree requirements are complete, I can focus on lots of fun bio electives to take. However, after browsing through the websites of some grad programs I'm interested in applying to, most of them casually list areas of coursework that are recommended for me to have taken before starting their program. I was wondering, is this list just some suggestive coursework or is it more mandatory? In my case, I was very surprised when I saw that most programs I'm applying to list Physical Chemistry as suggested coursework. I absolutely hate physics and I only really like chemistry because of the applications it has for bio, so naturally the thought of taking a chemistry course through the lens of a physicist is terrifying. It also seems rather unhelpful in terms of strengthening the knowledge I will need for bio grad programs. I guess my question is, will my chances of getting into programs be reduced if I opt out of P Chem? Or is their coursework merely a suggestion that doesn't actually hold much importance in the admissions process? 

I think it really might depend on the school/program, but one of the schools I applied to listed their prereqs right on their admissions section of the website.  More than anything I think they want to make sure you come in with at least a solid base knowledge of your subject and you show you can be competitive in upper divs.  

Here is a copy/past from that one schools website

"Applicants should have adequate undergraduate course work in:

Chemistry (two years)

• Physics (one year)
  • Calculus (one year)
  • Statistics (one course)
  • Biochemistry (one course)