Moving forward from rejections

magnetite

Would it be considered rude to contact a program that rejected your application in order to find out why? I recall reading about this somewhere, but I couldn't find exactly where.

I'm applying to several geological science and oceanography programs with the goal of studying the geochemistry of hydrothermal vents. I'm majoring in physics in undergrad and haven't had a chance to take many geology or chemistry courses, with the exception of general chemistry I and II and organic chemistry I. I also took an upper-level geophysics class, but it was not very strenuous at all and was mainly a survey course. I'm talking four homework assignments which counted 70% of the course grade and a group project that took up the rest.

In the event I get rejected from the places I applied, I'm sure I could have more more competitive applications the following year if I take some more courses in the interim. I imagine if my lack of relevant coursework is a big issue, the programs would tell me, right? In any case, it would be nice to know which classes would be best to take to catch up to other applicants.

You probably could contact them, but I don't think a lack of relevant coursework would be a make-or-break sort of a thing unless you didn't have ANY upper level science classes. I know a few physics majors who have gone on to do PhDs in geology and geochemistry. In the event you get rejected everywhere, I would try to spend the year gaining more research experience in your field (which you would get paid to do), rather than paying to take extra courses.

Yes, you can always ask. However, I do not think that right now is not a good time to be asking.