Am I ready?

honeybee23

Hi, everyone. I am new to this forum, so please forgive me if this topic has already been posted. I would like to apply for graduate school this Fall. I am enrolled in a newly established university.

GPA: 3.83. I am currently enrolled in a graduate course, so I am getting a taste of what graduate school would feel like. 

I am interested in medical anthropology and I have a research project in mind, but I keep thinking: Am I ready?

How did you know you were ready to go for a PhD? What credentials should you have to be a competitive applicant?

Honestly, it didn't even occur to me to apply while I was still a senior! I knew I wasn't ready to apply the following fall, though, because of what happened when I sat down with one of my favorite professors to talk about it just after I graduated. Normally I am fairly confident and articulate, but my attempt to express graduate school plans came out as a garbled and insecure mess. I figured that if I couldn't talk about my plans at even a pretty vague level without getting frustrated and upset, I probably wasn't ready to write them down in a polished way. So I went away and worked for a couple years. When I got back to it, I could articulate my plans, a much better research project, and have an itch to get back to it, rather than feeling a vague dread of having to do more school without a break.

Hi, knp! Thank you for responding, I really appreciate it! I will try to have a sit down with my professors and discuss what I would like to do. I just hope I can adequately express what I would like to study.