tabletop25

I recently got my Masters in German literature, and am not too sure if I want to pursue a career in academia. I have been working on re-careering by doing unpaid internships that focus on online community management, social media marketing, and community outreach via social networks. I have learned a lot, and have even had some interviews with some decent sized start ups. I was wondering if any of you have had similar situations, are thinking about doing the same, have done it, and what you have experienced. I know it's terrible to plug, but I've also started a little blog about the journey I've had trying to find a job outside of academia, how I've gone about doing it, as well as small pieces of advice.

Thanks

• 3 weeks later...

Do you mean changing careers? I left academia after finishing my PhD and one year as a postdoc. I work as a researcher in industry at a large technology company. I started thinking about leaving academia before I even started - my original goal when I began my PhD program was not to be a professor, but to work as a researcher in industry or government (although in a different field). Sometime along the way in graduate school I started considering academia but I was never 100% sold, so I decided to try it out as a postdoc. Ultimately I was not happy with the work or the way my career would play out even if I was successful in academia, so I decided to change careers.