Ph.D. in Higher Ed?

MrsG

While many here are celebrating, grieving, or waiting, I thought perhaps you could give a newbie some advice.

I graduated in 2009 with an MA in English. I was a TA in the English department and graduated a semester early. However, my GPA was pretty crappy because of some personal circumstances -- a 3.45.

I have worked for two years as a full-time Instructor of English and Foreign Languages at a public university since then. I have also worked as a Technical Editor at a Fortune 100 company. My husband recently retired from the Army, and we have moved back to our hometown, a place where there is one traffic signal in the entire county. I was lucky to find work as an Adjunct Instructor of English, and have worked at this for the past two semesters.

Obviously, working part-time doesn't cut it. I want to do important things. Teaching is VERY important, but it is not something that I want to do for the rest of my career. I have considered getting a Ph.D. in Rhetoric and Composition, and I believe I could be very successful with that, but teaching writing forever is just not what I want to do (even though I do like teaching writing). After a lot of soul searching over the past few years, I have come to the conclusion that I want to move toward Higher Ed administration, specifically something in the student services realm. I'm currently trying to get my foot in the door as a full-time academic advisor. I'm finding that changing my career focus has been difficult, but I am hopeful that with perseverance, my big break will come.