Confessions of a Dropout

RandomDood

Hello everybody,

I am an ex graduate student in sociology who has "dropped out."

I don't really know why I logged on after nearly 3 years of inactivity on this board. I guess I was just thinking about how stressed out I was 3 years ago, and how different my current life is from what I had envisioned it when I was applying to graduate school.
Anyway.
I just figured I'd write a post to provide a (hopefully) useful perspective from the point of view of someone who was in your situation and ended up doing something completely different with his life. These are just some things that I personally realized after 2 years of grad school; they are not meant to be universal truths, just my personal realizations that hopefully will be of use for some of you who are currently considering a career in academia and sociology.

• To remain in academia you truly need an extremely strong drive and self-discipline. Like, really, really strong. And mind you, it's not that you need drive to succeed...you need it even just to remain in it. Three years ago I was really convinced that I did feel an unquenchable thirst for knowledge, a deep desire to just "live the life of the mind." Also, I was always an outstanding student, I am a fairly smart person, so what could go wrong? As it turns out, these characteristics have nothing to do with what is required to make it through Grad School. I have met people who actually do have what it takes, and it's a lot more than a good brain and a hint of determination: they are the people who treat academia not just as a personal quest for truth, but as a true “calling” that requires utmost dedication.