Maxwell MPA vs. SPEA MPA? Please help :(

Syracuse Maxwell MPA vs. Indiana Bloomington SPEA MPA.. Not factoring in funding, which has the better program? Which has the better brand name?

I'm an international student and will return to my home country after completing my MPA, so not asking in terms of job offers in the US. I'm asking in terms of a high-quality education, a strong alumni network, and brand name/ prestige.

Thank you for any help. Would be really, really appreciated.

I am an alum of the Maxwell School's MPA program.  My experience has been that Maxwell has a wonderful alumni network, and I felt that the teaching was excellent.  I currently work in the Washington, DC region, which is the most common place that alumni go, so that may impact my perception of the alumni network.  There were several international students when I was a student there, and they seem to be doing well (the ones I know of are working at UN/World Bank agencies abroad - some in their home countries).  In terms of brand name/prestige, it's certainly not as well known as Harvard, Columbia or Princeton, unless the organization has Maxwell alums working there already - there are a lot of us out there, so this is not unlikely.  And in my experience, Maxwell alums like to help each other out :-)

I know very little about Indiana's program other than it is ranked highly, so I'm afraid I can't really compare them.

Edited by MaxwellAlum

You really can't go wrong with either program. Maxwell is the oldest MPA program in the country and is a 12 month program. SPEA is a two year program with an internship during the summer. Both have strong alumni networks, as Maxwell has a ton of loyal alumni throughout the US and SPEA has the most alumni. I've run into a lot of grads from both schools in DC and the skill-sets they carry rival those of other brand name policy programs.