Chemistry PhD decision

Fullmetal

Hi everyone, I'm having trouble making a choice for the chemistry PhD for Fall 2016, I would appreciate any opinions on the matter. I am an international student btw.

My two options are: UC Irvine or U Chicago.

Funding: pretty much the same in both, around 30 k each. Any opinions about the living cost in each city? I've done my research about it but any opinion would be helpful.

Research interest: mainly something related to biochemistry: chemical biology/biomaterials/biophysical sciences. I've emailed professors in both universities to talk about their research but both of them seemed equally interesting to me.

Graduate life?: I've read that the community in Irvine is not very sociable, unlike Chicago which seems a more vibrant city, but it is not that important for me I guess. I am looking for a comfortable place to live but I wouldn't want to be isolated all the time either.

Weather: Obviously California is a lot warmer than Chicago, but is it really that cold all year long in Chicago? I've never lived in a cold city so I don't know what to expect in that matter.

Thanks for the advice.

I saw this on the side bar and warning, I'm not a chemist. But I lived on the UCI campus last summer and admittedly wasn't thrilled: apartment buildings are all removed from each other, even just getting around campus felt like you needed a car, and there's nothing in the immediate vicinity besides UCI and its little commercial center (with the trader joe's etc.), at least that I could find. And I say this having done undergrad in CA (and loving it), so driving wasn't a big deal.

I'll counter myself with "I've never been to Chicago" and "yeah, but you only lived in Irvine for the summer which may be quieter than normal" and "Irvine is close to the beach, great weather, and (important for us geologists), has you within a few hours of mountains".

Probably better for others to respond, but wanted to help if possible!