Question About SSHRC Scholarship

lashe

Hey everyone,

I recently got SSHRC offered to me, however, I have not yet been admitted into the school that it was offered from. Is this something that typically happens? Is there a chance I would still be declined from the school after receiving this scholarship? It is my first time applying for a Master's so I am not sure what is standard for this type of thing! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks all!

Unfortunately yes, you can get the SSHRC and not get a position at the school. Two years ago I received the SSHRC at both Carleton and University of Saskatchewan, but didn't secure a spot. So had to turn it down! Thankfully I received one at the school I did get accepted at :)

Edited by Sevenoffs
Missed something from OP.

On 4/16/2016 at 3:01 PM, Sevenoffs said:

Unfortunately yes, you can get the SSHRC and not get a position at the school. Two years ago I received the SSHRC at both Carleton and University of Saskatchewan, but didn't secure a spot. So had to turn it down! Thankfully I received one at the school I did get accepted at :)

That seems odd. Doesn't the school itself decide who is awarded the CGS-M's from their pool of applicants? Why would a school offer the funding to an applicant if they were not going to offer admittance? 

Edited by thrillhouse

Yes, that does seem odd. But thank you both for your feedback! I guess I will continue to wait and see what happens in the next couple of days with my fingers crossed! 

On April 18, 2016 at 10:30 AM, thrillhouse said:

That seems odd. Doesn't the school itself decide who is awarded the CGS-M's from their pool of applicants? Why would a school offer the funding to an applicant if they were not going to offer admittance?