Fulbright-Hays 2016-2017

anthroapplicant

I'm surprised this hasn't been started yet!  I have a couple of questions for the veterans:

1. can one of my referees also be my language evaluator?

2. do I have to submit a language evalutation for my native language?

3. how strict is the F-H review committee with respect to the priority fields? I am an anthropology student and my topic touches on economics and development, but doesn't exactly fit into either category. Will I still get those 2 extra points? 

Couldn't seem to find the answers to these questions on the application instructions. Thanks for your help!

I got some answers from DOE for these questions! 

1. "There’s nothing in the application guidelines that would prevent the student applicant from using the same individual for both the recommendation and the language reference form.  However, I would advise the applicant to try and select someone else so that a conflict does not appear.  The evaluators may take that into consideration when reviewing and scoring the student’s application package."

2. "Page 40 of the application states:

Indicate all foreign languages to be used in your research during the fellowship period and obtain a completed Fulbright-Hays Foreign LanguageReference Form for each foreign language listed. If English or your native tongue is the language of research, you must list it here, but a Foreign Language ReferenceForm is not required. Though a reference form is not required, the G5 system mandates a form. For English only, please list yourself as the reference writer and submitthe form. This will alleviate any technical problems with the form. Please see criteria 3 under Qualifications of the Applicant."

I see there is not much interest in the Fulbright-Hays in this forum this year. Is everyone just busy working on their grants and other academic work?

On April 16, 2016 at 0:23 AM, anthroapplicant said: