SAIS or SIPA to PhD?

Boost

Hello GCers,

I have to decide within the next two days, so I'd appreciate some fast advice!

Here's my situation: after a patchy undergrad degree where I bounced around majors and ended up with a ~3.6, I have been working in development in South America for 3 years. I want to study my PhD in economics focusing on the Pacific Pumas phenomenon (Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Peru) and how public debt plays a role in economic growth/stability.

Up until today, I was pretty much set on going to SAIS in the IDEV program, where I have a scholarship that means I will only have to take out loans of about 35k. I think that SAIS's Latin American Studies program also seems very strong and well-funded, plus SAIS is known for its economic rigor especially within the IDEV program.

However, SIPA reconsidered my financial aid and bumped my scholarship up from half to full-tuition. But over the course of two years, my debt will still probably be about the same as at SAIS. The advantages I see at SIPA are that I could take economics courses outside the MPA program(?) which I'm not sure is an advantage or not.. and it seems there are more tenured faculty, which means maybe I might have a better chance at an RAship?

It's always a bit discouraging to see when people on TGC say not to go to these programs if aiming for a PhD, but these programs seem much more highly regarded than a terminal MS in economics without funding from X Ivy league school. And since I have the funding, I'd like to have a try at the Chris Blattman route and wanted to know which school you all think will be better for my shot at a PhD.