Should I Include Non-Complete Projects In My CV ?

Hello,

I am a newbie here :lol: and I just joined today. I hope this is the right place to ask this question.
I applied to an university for research the last summer, advisor invited me to an interview and told me that I have no prior research experience or anything that would prove my worth, that is my CV is practically empty.

However this is not the case. I worked in 2 labs, and attended 2 different projects along the way which resulted in nothing. So I excluded them from my CV.

I am a senior, I have sub 3.00 cgpa and in a bad financial situation, so I cannot apply anywhere except local schools for graduate school. 

Meanwhile a lot of people around me applied to various places. And I realized even though many lacked good grades and research they did compensated it with their huge ego.

I have watched people making really big deal out of everything they attend. I mean if they just attend a lab tour they mention in it their SoP, CV I mean everywhere!

I have been taught not to be greedy and a show off, so I am having real trouble here. I did panicked when the advisor thought I was nothing but a regular student, which is not the case at all! 

We are talking about regional fames here, so if someone wants me to get a rec letter from them I cannot get it because things did not worked and I left. I can use some marketing skills to make these hidden experiences look great of course, but I am not sure whether it is dishonest or not? 

Sure, as a general case, there is no reason not to list research experiences that did not lead to a publication. The point is you have the experience, and that is entirely independent of whether the project was eventually successful or not. This is not about showing off -- no one is suggesting that you embellish or claim results that aren't there, and anyone listing a lab tour as experience is obviously not doing it right.