Hello, everyone !

I graduated from university with my Bachelor's Degree in Biotechnology. My GPA was a 3.91, and my GRE  score was 308 with 3.0 in awa section;IELTS:6.5. I have great recommendations and have completed 3 research internships Here is the thing, I applied to 10 PhD programs last year, only interviewed at one, and was not given a spot at any of them. Which leads me to the next question, what did I do wrong? should I just stop applying and apply for my masters first? I don't want to disappoint anyone again with another round of rejections. Please tell me what to do nexttttt !!!! Thanks !

I would give additional comments.

Looking into your brief profile introduction, I would suggest that you consider retaking the GRE if you want higher chance getting into more interviews. In general, high-ranked schools use GRE to cut off the pool of candidates.

Plus, if your research internships are all relevant to your applications, then I don't think it would be a problem applying directly to PhD. However, if you are not sure what you want to do / your research topics, then working through a warming up PhD study, i.e. Master's, can be helpful. But funding for Master's is much less promising.

Instead of thinking about going to do a Master's as a warm up, you may want to consider working voluntarily in a research lab and get a publication or two, which will strengthen your application.

Edited by ShogunT

On 5/16/2016 at 7:21 PM, Ignis said:

What kind of PhD programs did you apply to? What is the breakdown of your GRE score? Either way, it's likely too low for many competitive programs. 

I applied for molecular and cell biology programs; Verbal :149; quants: 159

15 hours ago, Ignis said:

Can I ask which 10 programs you applied for?