Grad programs in exploration geophysics

New poster here. 

I am an undergrad working on a BS in geophysics and geology with a decently strong math background starting to look into PhD programs with the intention of applying next fall.

I'm looking for good programs in reflection/exploration seismology, and would appreciate some advice. So far I've been really attracted to Columbia because they have a very active research program and several reflection seismology faculty - though they aren't well connected to industry. Also UT Austin seems to have a good program with strong industry connections. I've also thought about SEP at Stanford and CWP at Mines, but I'm not sure I want to be so focused on processing. Maybe a program with survey design, processing, and interpretation would be better? Where else should I be looking?

[I'm at a tier 1 school and have decent grades (3.7 GPA) as well as some research experience (3 AGU posters)]

• 1 month later...

Hi.

I'm not sure Columbia has an exploration focus. Most big Universities don't. Almost all exploration programs are in states where O&G industry exists. 

I'll be starting in UT this fall and besides Stanford, I think it's the best option. They have a good variety of courses in seismic interpretation, processing, and related courses which could be of interest, such as rock physics, reservoir geomechanics, geology courses (sedimentology, structural, etc), basin analysis, subsurface mapping and workstations, etc. Other good options are U. of Oklahoma, U. of Houston, CSM. The thing is as you said, in CSM they tend to focus more on processing, which can be really difficult, depending on your skills and what you like. 

Another thing to look for is faculty, some good universities or relatively good universities don't have enough faculty dedicated to seismic exploration. That's why I think both Stanford and UT are the best overall.