My chances of getting into Grad School

warwick

Hello everyone,

I need some advice/inspiration from you all. I am a longtime lurker as I have been preparing over the year to apply to Grad School, and I have finally decided to post. I need to know what my chances are of getting into Grad school. I know the answer to this is usually "it depends" based on a lot of variables, but I would like to ask you all and see what you say. This website has given me TONS of information that I find imperative to my journey in going to Grad School.

I want to apply to a Masters in Criminal Justice, possibly a PhD in Criminal Justice/Criminology. I don't want or expect to get into a top 5 program, I would go anywhere as long as there is funding and the program suits my interests.

Basically my resume looks like this:

Bachelors of Science degree in Criminal Justice from a mid-table SUNY school

GPA: 3.45 Overall, 3.47 Major

GRE: I have been studying for 2 months, plan to take it in 2 more months on June 15th. The Magoosh practice exam I took 2 weeks ago was a Q148 and a V149. 

Research Experience: I have none right now. I plan on getting a job or volunteering as a RA for a year before applying.

Relevant Work Experience: I have been a Security Guard for 5 years. I have been a supervisor at a 1,000+ kid baseball summer camp. I was the supervisor of overnight shifts for 3 years. I currently work as a Security Supervisor for my county offices building and Department of Social Services. Monitor CCTV, security checkpoint and "wanding" people who enter. The basic airport TSA security stuff. I also have had various jobs before this. Basically, I have worked my whole life since I was 16, during summers when I was not in school and sometimes during college.