Starting salary of PhD graduates in the life sciences

childoftheeast

Hi all,

I am a second year PhD student in the life sciences. My goal out of grad school is to go into industry (biotech/pharma, etc.), preferably as an R&D scientist. I also don't mind government scientist jobs as I heard that they have more job security. Any ideas on the starting salary of a "fresh" PhD graduate in these sectors? I am talking about right out of school (no postdoc). I've heard somewhere around 80-90K, but others also told me around 50-60K (which is extremely hard for me to believe). Many Scientist 1 jobs that don't require a postdoc seem to be around 80-90K, but I would like other inputs. Personal experience is always welcome. Thanks!

p.s. I study protein-protein and protein-RNA interactions using hardcore biochemistry, which heavily involves protein purification, expression, all kinds of pulldown techniques (coIP), a little bit of structural biology, etc..

• 2 weeks later...

It would depend on your title and duties, of course, as well as the firm. The government has a salary schedule that you can look up; generally speaking, a brand-new PhD would be GS-12 in scientific professions. The base salary for GS-12 step 1 on the government salary schedule is $62,101. However, there's also locality pay for higher cost of living areas; many large urban areas in the U.S. have special locality pay. So if you were to work in DC at the NIH, your starting pay would be $77,490. If you worked for the CDC in Atlanta, your starting salary would be $74,260. However, your salary does increase somewhat rapidly; advancing between the first 4 steps takes 1 year per step. So in the DC area, at the beginning of year 4 on the job you'd be earning $85,238 (plus about 1-2% more due to annual cost of living increases). That's a jump of almost $10K in just 3 years. And you only need one year of specialized experience to apply for GS-13 jobs internally, which come with an even bigger salary boost.