Is GRE Subject Test Advisable?

jayghandi

I am keen on applying for a top Biomedical PhD Program in a top University. I hope to apply to UCSF. My general profile is

GRE: Quant 159 / Verbal 164 AWA scores not assessed yet.

I have a BSc in Cell Biology and Genetics and an MSc in Genetics.

I have appreciable research experience but I have no publications.

I can get glowing reference letters

I would like to know if anyone would strongly recommend I do the subject test. I know it would help but is it capable of swinging the decision in my favor or if it will be more or less redundant since I do not have more than 2 years research experience and no publications as well. I get the impression that publications are vital to the admission process and this is one area I fall very short. 

All advice will be deeply apprecaited.

Edited by jayghandi

On 5/27/2016 at 7:02 AM, Bioenchilada said:

What's your GPA? Are you an international student? How much research experience OVERALL do you have? 

Also, you don't need publications to get into top school. Most people don't have them. 

Many thanks for your reply. I appreciate your insight and any further information you may have. 

I got an approximate GPA of 2.62 from my Undergraduate degree and a 2.8 if I convert from a 5 point system to a 4 point system. I am an international student from Nigeria. I have appreciable research experience which I got while in doing my Masters two years ago but none since then. I currently work in Marketing and now I wish to go back into research.

I am glad to learn that I do not need publications. Do you think the subject tests are necessary still? Also do you have any tips on the which schools would accept my qualifications?