SAIS vs. Canadian Schools

jan25

Hi everyone,

I'm facing a "curse of plenty", as someone I recently met called it. I am choosing between Johns Hopkins' SAIS, University of Toronto's Munk School and Carleton's NPSIA. I am a Canadian and I hope to eventually settle in Canada, but I'm having trouble saying no to SAIS. I am very lucky to be in this situation, but I have a tough decision to make and I would really appreciate your input. I still haven't decided whether I would prefer to work for international multilaterals, NGOs or the Canadian government.

I have been a student and/or instructor at UofT for the past six years (I completed a bachelor of commerce and an MA in literature), and the program guarantees global summer internships. I have a very strong attachement to this city and school, and already built a strong network here. There is not much info on employment statistics, however, 

On the other hand, SAIS is arguably the top IR program in the world, and a year in Bologna sounds incredible. I received a decent amount of funding from the school, as well as external funding, so finances are not a major issue.

Are the career opportunities comparable at both schools? Do I have a disadvantage as a Canadian at SAIS?

I am still somewhat considering Carleton, but given my history at UofT, I am pretty sure that I would choose the latter if I decided to stay in Canada.

Thanks!

Correct me if I'm wrong here, but I believe the deadline to accept admission/scholarship money at SAIS has passed. I think the deadlines were May 2nd for admission and earlier in April for scholarship money.