Bioengineering phD w/ a bachelor's in biology

Gavin Hong

Hello friends,

I graduated with a bachelor's degree in biology last spring and am currently in the process of getting ready for grad school. I was wondering how common it is for biology majors to be accepted into bioengineering phD programs. 

Your input will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

I don't know of anyone personally that has done this. It probably depends heavily on your coursework - i.e. have you taken enough BioE classes to be able to succeed in graduate level BioE classes? Besides some upper level courses, it'd probably be nice to have most of the standard engineering curriculum completed too (Calc 3, Diff Eq, Physics, etc).

• 1 month later...

It is definitely doable. I went from neuroscience to bioengineering, which is a pretty similar shift. I did look at the requirements of different programs, though, and tried to align my remaining electives with that. For me that meant calc 3, diff eq, and lin alg. (I took IB physics but didn't take any in college, FWIW.) I did also work in a lab with a lot of bioengineering grad students for 4 years in undergrad, which I think helped show that I could handle that type of research and the quantitative aspects that you don't necessarily encounter in a biology program.