Anxious soul: Not feeling ready for grad school, but being pressured to apply

Kaede

Hi everyone! I need advice from people who aren't my professors.

I'm a rather accomplished bio undergrad and am about to enter my final year. Thus far, I have had two summer research experiences, a few presentation awards, and a Goldwater scholarship. I say all this not to brag, but because I feel like I'm not ready yet.

I still have no idea exactly which field I'd like to pursue (Genetics? Cell Bio? Neuroscience? Physiology? Bioinformatics???) and tend to not do well on standardized tests (I'm scoring low on GRE quant).I started looking into graduate programs and felt overwhelmed by the options and trying to find professors whose research I liked, who could also be good mentors, and have funding on top of that. This is overwhelming and it is making starting the process very difficult.

I'm leaning toward doing a year long research-focused postbac program, but am having a few problems:

1. My professors have highly advised me against taking a year off and suggest I just start applying now
  2. They also suggest that if I really want a postbac, I apply to postbac and grad school programs at the same time
  3. I feel like most postbac programs won't take me because of my accomplishments since I am rather competitive, even though I desperately feel like I need some time off to focus on applications

I'm really not sure what to do. I know I am in a great position academically, but personally, I feel that things are moving too quickly. Would appreciate any advice at this point since I am at a loss for how to continue.

You need to drill down on why you are anxious about continuing your education. If you do not want to be in school anymore, then don't do it! Grad school is not like undergrad. You have to be very self-motivated to complete it, and if you're not, then it is hell.