academic records and the job market

alanfutures

hi all,

i have an inquiry about the impact of academic records on phd applications, in job searches, etc, because i'm contemplating giving up my dreams of ever entering academia. in short, i graduated with a b.a. in a humanities discipline, achieving a 3.45 cumulatively (and a 3.93 in the last two years). like any other bright, passionate humanities student, i sought an m.a. soon thereafter and was awarded a scholarship to attend a relatively prestigious foreign school. for a number of reasons, the program wasn't really right for me, and in the end, i graduated with what they call 'upper second class honours', a 'good 2:1' -- a 65.5%, which roughly translates to something like a 3.0 on the 4.0 scale. now, burdened with an enormous amount of student debt and a mediocre m.a., i am finding it difficult to properly orient myself toward the future. on the one hand, i'm tempted to find work 'in the world ', where i might be able to put my skills to practical use. on the other hand, my dreams of researching, publishing, and working for a university will simply not relent, and i'm entertaining ideas about pursuing yet another m.a. (or m.phil) to prove that i am cut out for graduate work, that my work can achieve distinction, and to demonstrate potential that i know is there. i know that academia is meritocratic and thus seek advice about whether mediocre marks from a first m.a., in conjunction with my undergraduate work, will be used against me when applying for phds and jobs in the future. should i give it all up? what should i do?

x

Edited by alanfutures