How did you travel to grad school?

I'm starting a program in the fall that is distanced from me 26 hours by car and 6-10 hours by plane. I will be traveling across the border (I am an international student). I'm currently deciding between flying there and buying things there vs. buying things ahead of time and driving there (or, I could buy things ahead of time and mail it while I fly). Things I need to buy include most kitchenware and small appliances (lamps, microwave, etc.) bedsheets/duvets, and a laser printer. I plan to arrive at around August 10th.

Starting/moving for grad school is both exciting and nerve-wracking. Any advice on how to travel to grad school is greatly appreciated!

Edited by Aminoacidalanine

If you're not moving an actual household... like furniture and stuff... I would just fly there and buy stuff once you get there. That 26 hour drive becomes a whole lot longer if you're moving furniture and household items. 

I personally am a long haul driver... and have moved whole households more than once. But if it's a hassle that you don't have to deal with, then don't. 

I'm assuming that the car isn't yours and that you would have to rent one? Otherwise, driving is really kinda the only option lol. 

I moved about a 30-hour drive from where I used to live to where my M.S. program is located. Luckily, my Dad is retired and volunteered to tow the UHaul trailer with his SUV while I drove my pickup. He drove 16 hours to where I lived at the time, 30 hours to where I attend school, and 14 hours back to his home (he had his wife to keep him company in their vehicle). We made it into a 10-day trip, with stops in my home state to see family and friends and some touristy stuff along the way.