Want to Apply to Neuroscience Program But GPA Is Super Low

itsjennetic

Hello fellow users,

I am a recent graduate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. I received my undergraduate through the Liberal Arts College and majored in Individual Program of Study in Neuroscience, a major that I tailored with my research professor since a neuro degree wasn't actually offered yet at U of I for undergrads. I graduated with a 3.2 GPA due to a lot of personal events and stress that occurred during my undergrad, along with being diagnosed with anxiety/depression at the end of my junior year. Despite my low GPA though, I do have about 3 years of research experience in a neurophysiology lab.

I am currently living in the Bay Area, CA and my stress levels have stabilized since graduating about 6 months ago - I am currently studying for the GRE and looking at graduate schools to apply to. I am also very interested in furthering my studies internationally. I'm very worried that my low GPA will have a huge negative impact on my application. The schools I am looking at applying to are:

- Berkeley and UCSF (I know these are a huge stretch)

- U of I in Chicago and U of I in Urbana-Champaign

- Rush University

- Northwestern University

- University of Washington

- University of Minnesota

- University of Toronto

- McGill University

- University of Edinburgh

- University of Glasgow

- Trinity College Dublin

I feel like I am aiming too high for these programs, but I am extremely interested in their labs and they deliver high-quality education for postgrads. I am feeling pretty intimidated though, any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for listening.