Hoping to get into SLP field

I am very interested in pursuing a career in slp, but I'm having a difficult time figuring out how to get into a Masters program.  Let me start off by saying that I graduated in 2006 with a BA in Literature, and my cum gpa was 2.98.  After graduating, I took six grad courses for a post bac certification in secondary English education.  I  did very well in these courses, earning Mostly As and a few Bs, but i found myself called back to the field of early childhood education.  After working for several years as a preschool teacher, I observed a few of the speech therapists at work, and I realized that I wanted to work in this profession.  I have heard that SLP masters programs are very competitive, and to even consider getting accepted, you need at least a 3.0 GPA, and usually schools are likely to only consider those with at least a 3.5.  If this is the case, is there any hope for me?  Is it possible to even get into an SLP program with my gpa?  I feel called to this profession, and I don't want to just give up.  I am prepared to work hard; I just need a shot.  Any advice would be very much appreciated.  Thank you.

Why is your cum GPA now? Without that info and knowing your GRE scores, it's not possible to really give any input. Regardless, a huge amount of geographic flexibility and finding programs that look at the last 60 credits only sounds like your best bet.

2 hours ago, Anne said: