Where to apply? (Microbio PhD)

MikeZ80

Hi all. I just took my GRE and now want to start narrowing down a list of schools I should be applying to. I'm really interested in pursuing a PhD in Microbio, Infectious diseases, virology or something similarily related.

Undergrad Institution: Small private Liberal Arts College

Major: Biology

Minors: Chemistry and Philosophy

Major GPA: 3.89

Overall GPA: 3.849

Type of Student: Caucasian Male

GRE Scores:

160 Verbal

157 Quant

4.0 AW

Research Experience: Currently doing research in a Virology Lab on my undergrad campus. I've been doing research for about five months so far and will be continuing for the foreseeable future. By the time I submit my applications I should have at least 6 months. Also I will be submitting a paper but that will be after my applications are submitted. 

So far I've had two presentations at my undergrad institution. 

I also have 2 semesters of experience as a TA for an Anatomy and Physiology class.

Letters: I should have a really strong letter from my current PI and another strong one from a Professor who I know pretty well. I'll also have a third strong one from the Associate Director of Graduate Studies at my undergrad insitution who I know very well.

Schools I'm looking at:

University of Rochester

SUNY Buffalo

SUNY Albany

Cornell

Washington University in St. Louis

I'm just concerned because my GRE scores are a little low and I don't have alot of research experience.....

I'm not sure if I am competitive for these schools and what others I should have on my list.

Any input is appreciated.

13 minutes ago, Bioenchilada said:

Your numbers are good overall, I'd say that your actual weakness is your research experience. Is there a reason why you started doing research so late?