Engineering MS as a chem major?

emma512

Being a doctor has been something I've always aspired to be as I was growing up. I came into college as a biology major but found myself much more interested in problem solving based and math heavy classes instead of rote memorization so I switched over to a chemistry major and also have been taking extra math classes for the fun of it. I just took differential equations and physical chemistry last semester and absolutely loved them because it involved so much critical thinking, logic, and math. And I'm not too fond of the biology classes I've taken so far due to the amount of memorization.

I have done many extra curriculars to support my med school application and I am currently studying for the MCATs but recently I'm not too thrilled with the idea of going to medical school.
I've heard that medical school is a majority memorization and I've recently been looking into chemical engineering masters programs and it looks like a really good fit at the moment. If I were to do a chemical engineering MS i would have to take a couple remedial classes. By the time I graduate I'll have taken Physical 1 and 2, Calc 1-3, Differential Equations, Probability and Statistics, Linear Algebra, and possible a thermodynamics class. My gpa is a 3.56 (would be higher if I didn't get two C's in bio 1 and 2) Any suggestions, advice, or comments??

Edited by emma512

I am glad to see that you are thinking critically about your desire for medical school now, rather than after you have applied. The general rule of thumb is that if you're not that hot on the idea of doing a long-term program, you will have almost no chance of sticking with it once you get in. I'm sure there are exceptions, but you seem more tuned into engineering approaches than biological ones.