Grad & Admissions Director AMA

Haphazardsoc

I'm an Associate Professor in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Sociology department. I'm currently Director of Graduate Admissions and occasionally Director of Graduate Studies. Feel free to ask me questions about the application process, either specific to UNC or more generally. I'm also happy to answer more general questions about getting a PhD in Sociology. 

Hello,

First, thank you so much for doing this!  The process is nerve wracking in large part because of the opacity, so having you field questions like this is both reassuring and very helpful. 

Some context before I get to my questions: I am an international applicant, with a BA (sociology) and MA (social theory) from a Canadian university.  I’ve heard over and over the importance of fit so I’m only applying to four US schools, all of which I think I have a very strong fit with.

My main questions are:

1     How important are publications and conference presentations? I’ve presented at three conferences, and have one sole-authored publication from a peer reviewed journal (European & relatively new, so no impact score).  Is this competitive?  If not, what is considered competitive?

2    Could you speak to the relative importance of GRE scores? Are they important enough to sink an otherwise desirable applicant? Important enough to compensate for weak areas of an application?

3     Are international applicants judged differently than domestic applicants? If so, how?

Any insight you can give is much appreciated.  Thank you for your time!

Edited by Beals
formatting

1 hour ago, Beals said:

1     How important are publications and conference presentations? I’ve presented at three conferences, and have one sole-authored publication from a peer reviewed journal (European & relatively new, so no impact score).  Is this competitive?  If not, what is considered competitive?