Career Change to Social Work

slp2msw

Hi all! I am currently a speech/language pathologist in the process of applying to MSW programs. I have a bachelors and masters degree in communication sciences & disorders and three years of experience as an SLP in the public school setting. In my career I've had the opportunity to work with children and families from low SES backgrounds and wear many "hats" while serving as an SLP. I'm a little worried about my competitiveness as an applicant as I don't have an undergrad background in social work or a traditional liberal arts program. I completed both of my degrees with a 3.5 GPA. I know that no one can give an exact answer, but am I competitive applicant for an MSW? I am trying to avoid programs that require the GRE as my 2010 scores can no longer be reported. I believe that I will be able to obtain strong recommendations from former instructors and current supervisors. I am interested in gaining admission to Columbia, NYU, University of Michigan, UPENN and USC. 

Thanks in advance for the help! I really appreciate it! :)

Do you want to focus on policy or direct practice? It sounds like you're largely aiming for school based on their brand appeal. For direct practice, no one really cares where you went and many of the "top schools" just employ a large cadre of adjuncts to teach their practice classes. For policy-focused students, the name of your school matters more, but you might be better off in a different type of program, especially if you're not offered a lot of funding.