Anxieties / questions from a first time socio-cultural applicant

Hi! I'm a recent college graduate who's applying to sociocultural anthropology PhD programs for the first time and is kind of scared shitless/would love some advice about the best way to go about this process! I graduated from a mid-tier liberal arts college and I double majored in both Anthropology and English. I know at least two out of my three rec letters are going to be really solid (they're both from my academic advisors who I spent a lot of time with) and am still trying to figure out who my third is going to be. I graduated with a 3.52 which isn't like the best but I ended up getting honors on my senior thesis (which was a qualitative, ethnographic research project of my own design). 

I guess my main problem/anxiety is that most of the programs I've been looking at/that my anthro academic advisor has been telling me to look at are all like pretty intense/prestigious universities (my main picks right now are John Hopkins, Princeton, Cornell, U-Wash Seattle, and UPenn), because those are the places where my research interests are (mostly medical anthropology, Israel/Palestine, and postcolonialism). Whenever I tell people where I'm applying, they're always like "oh wow, that's a really good school" which kind of really freaks me out and makes me doubt everything b/c I wasn't like THE MOST AMAZING student in school or anything like that. So, I guess, I have these questions:

1) Am I aiming too high by applying to places like John Hopkins, Princeton, etc? I know the whole safety school thing doesn't really exist b/c it's all about finding someplace where your interests are but I'm worried that w/my GPA, I might not make the first cut. Basically, how big of a deal is GPA?