Need an Outside Perspective

k.draper

Hey Guys, 

This is the first time I've posted on this site so I apologize in advance if I do something wrong. 

I'm the first person in my family to graduate from college let alone apply to grad school and I'm a bit lost. I would really love an honest idea of what my chances are. I'm planning on applying to several CSU MSW programs (And SFSU)

My stats:

3.5 GPA (last 60 credits)

2.97 (overall. I know, it's low...)

I scored a 5.5 on my Analytical Writing portion of the GRE

I put myself through college completely independently (I've been working since I was 16) and I have a bachelors in anthropology with a minor in philosophy from Portland State University. 

I was volunteer of the year at my local Rape Crisis Center 

I was volunteer of the month at the orphanage where I volunteered/taught for 2.5 months in Thailand

One year of employment in the social work field (working with troubled youth) as well as substitute teaching. 

I have 2 strong letters of recommendation from professors ( I know I need 3)

I had a pretty crazy childhood with strong personal experiences with abuse and trauma that has definitely sparked a passion for social work. 

I know my GPA is low and I don't have any cool research experience or anything like that so I'm really kind of worried. I would appreciate any advice or constructive criticism.

Thanks everyone!

Hey!

For some perspective, I had a very similar application this year to SFSU, for their MSW program.  I had 4 years of work experience in the mental health and addiction fields, working as a supervisor.  My GPA was very similar to yours.. 2.97 in the last 60, 3.19 cumulative.

I had two strong references from professors, one from a work supervisor (executive director of the agency I worked for).

5.5 on the GRE (I think that helped the case with the lower GPA)

and I was offered admission, starting classes in three weeks.