Direct PhD vs PhD after MA and work experience

AgumonIsAPokemon

Hi y'all

I'm an international undergrad student majoring in sociology. I will be applying for sociology grad programs this fall. My interest falls into something related to crime and punishment (NYU's David Garland heavily influenced me). Not criminology or law studies btw! 

I haven't really narrowed down my possibilities as I am thinking of the UK, US, and Canada. For now, I am thinking of getting a PhD at some point of my life.

Doing some research, I have noticed the US barely has any terminal sociology MA programs. So if I do apply for an American university, I will apply for a PhD program. If I do get admitted, I will go through the PhD program and hopefully get a PhD. My top-tierish schools I'm applying to are Wisconsin, Berkeley, UCLA, Northwestern, NYU, etc (subject to change).  

On the contrary, Canada and the UK has a lot of terminal masters program. If I do attend a MA program, I was thinking of working 2~3 years after attaining my MA so I can get some insight on my interest outside from of an academic institution/perspective. (I also considered this possibility as I may want to opt out from an academic career after experiencing graduate studies. And I feel like it would be harder to opt out after being admitted into a PhD program as the program is structured for a PhD student, not a MA student). After working for a few years, I think I will reapply for a PhD program. I could apply for a PhD program in both countries (Toronto looks really good) but for some reason I am hesitant about that. 

So here is my question. Is the latter case (MA→work→PhD) a legitimate life course? What are the pros and cons of both cases? I know this is all relative and context based but some sort of insight would help me out a lot.