Change of Research Field in Grad School?

HilarityClinton

Hello, 

I am an aerospace engineering undergraduate from India. I'm in my final year of a dual degree program, i.e, I'll graduate with a Bachelors and a Masters. 

I'm looking to apply to the US for graduate school in AE for Fall 2017, but I'm having a tough time deciding between fields of aerospace I want to pursue my higher studies in. It is common knowledge that a funded Masters is incredibly difficult to get, but a PhD offer comes with definite monetary support - in the form of TAships or RAships, or any other fellowships. 

My question is, if I get accepted into a PhD program, would it be possible for me to change my PI? And if so, by would I be expected to make that decision?

• 2 weeks later...

I believe it is generally possible to change your PI at most schools. However, the level of difficulty will vary between schools/programs. In programs that offer a rotation you might not even need to decide on a PI until your second year. While in other programs, your acceptance might be contingent on available funding from a specific PI. In the latter case, in order to switch PI's you will need to find another advisor who is willing/able to support you or find your own funding.

The ease of changing advisors definitely varies by school, but it's not verboten. (I've heard the recommendation to go to a school where there are at least 2 people you could see yourself working with, in case things don't work out with your initial advisor for whatever reason - funding, research area, mentoring style, etc.) With rotations, it's definitely easier to switch advisors since you don't really have one until the second year, but I don't think rotations are common in most engineering fields.