Review of Ph.D Application Package

c-guzman

This type of post may be frowned upon, but i've exhausted myself doing the research and searching the programs FAQ's and contacting various professors from each institution. I'm a recent master's graduate that's looking to apply to a couple Ph.D programs in computational biology, bioinformatics, and molecular / genetics programs. I don't know what 'tier' (I hate this word) of schools I should realistically be applying to. My main focus is a good mentor. Program prestige matters, but lets be real ... I won't likely be getting a professorship.

My qualifications:

• Master's in Biology - ~3.5 GPA
  • GRE - Haven't taken, but with 3 months of studying I am hoping for a 160/160.
  • I have 3 years of research experience. 2 years of experience as a graduate research assistant, and another year as a research assistant II at a Top 20 R1 institute where I am the sole computational biologist with a really great mentor.
  • I will have 1 co-first author publication published, 2 submitted, and 1 in preparation by December 1st deadlines. So I guess that's ... 4? I'm not sure if submitted / in prep count, but i'm assuming not. I am also involved in several other projects that may or may not be submitted or published before my deadlines, I am likely to be second or third author on these.
  • I have a decent knowledge of Python and R with various programming projects in my GitLab - one of which is likely to be published.
  • I have two really strong letters of recommendation from my master's PI, and my current PI. I can potentially get 1 mediocre letter from a professor from my undergrad institute. I'm currently trying to get a collaboration going with another professor at my current university so that I can have 3 really strong letters. If one of my submitted publications to eLife works out, the editor of the journal is willing to write letters of recommendation for the 1st author ... so this could potentially be something I suppose.