I would really like to begin submitting for conferences, but I know nothing about the conference-paper submission processes or criteria or etiquette or basically anything. I have past completed research I could discuss/submit, and I have ongoing directions of research with no results quite yet (what I have is evidence of a gap in our field, and an argument for the importance of filling this gap). Is it appropriate to present such things at conferences? The one I'll begin with is a subnational conference. 

I will be a second-year grad student this year, and have minimal publications, but extensive public speaking experience.

Doing some reading up online but wondering if anyone has pointers, resources, Websites, or experiences regarding not just this specific question, but about conference 101 type stuff - including SAMPLES of good PROPOSALS :) Thanks

Edited by jujubea

Alright, so let's start here: as a beginning student, I would recommend only submitting abstracts on work that is in advanced stages, so you know that you have results and the abstract is much easier to write. At later career stages you may choose to submit abstracts about less mature work, but that requires having a good sense of a timeline for completion that would allow you to have something substantial enough by the conference time, as well as the ability to be creative with the abstract writing. I've done this in the past as a way to get work done ("let's see if it gets in, if so we'll have X months to get something going!"), and that has good sides (real deadlines mean real work gets done) and bad sides (last minute work under pressure, with the real possibility of inconclusive results). I would not recommend this for young students, it can easily backfire.