Reaching out to professors

pecmsyx

Hi, I am an undergraduate from a top ten statistics department. I double major in Statistics and Math. I am thinking about applying to a doctoral program in Statistics this coming Fall. I have been researching some grad schools and I have a few professors whose research interests are very similar to mine and I would really like to reach out to them and express my interest.

However, I am not sure if reaching out to them would work in my favor. I did not start considering the doctoral path until very recently and my GPA isn't as good as I want it to be. My Stat major GPA is around 3.55 and my advanced major GPA (starting from junior year) is around 3.75. I have been working hard to improve my grades and I think by the time I submit my application I can increase my Stat major GPA to around 3.73 and my advanced major GPA to around 3.85. I am on my third research project but I have no publications so far, I am working hard towards one......

On the one hand, I am concerned that my grades would not leave a good impression with the professors; on the other hand, I really want to reach out to these professors and express my interest and I think my research experience might be an advantage for me. Should I reach out to the professors? If I do, should I mention or try to explain my grades issues? I would love to hear your suggestions on the topic, thanks!

Definitely reach out. How else will you know if people are accepting students or even interested in supervising the kind of research you want to do? Do NOT mention your grades at this stage. The ideal thing with grades is to have a recommender bring up any issues, but there have to be real reasons (e.g., pecmsyx struggled during X semester while caring for a dying parent/dealing with a serious medical issue) and not something about struggling with the material in a difficult class.