Every GRE test center is booked full for the next three months?

g1668334

I'm looking to take the GRE some time in October, I live in San Francisco. I can only take it on weekends. However, it looks like every test center in San Francisco in October and November is already booked on the weekends -- there are a few in the city, one in San Bruno, a few in San Jose -- nope, all full. So I'd have to travel to Sacramento to take it.

Is this normal? This is my first time taking the GRE, and I didn't anticipate registering for the test to be so competitive. How far in advance do you typically need to register?

Also, I noticed the website is quite buggy. When I click on a test center that's supposed to be available on a date, and try to show the times available, it tells me no seats are available.

The system is down now.  I was having the same issues and called ETS to register.  They were doing some site maintenance and apparently they are still having issues.  They couldn't even register me through their systems.  I was told that Thursday would be the best time to try to register and that calling would be best.

Hopefully this eases some of your worries.