Nervous about my chances

Hello,

I know people post a lot of these questions, and I have definitely reviewed some posts looking for someone with a similar experience as me. I just feel like I had to make an account to get some opinions personalized for me. I would love some realistic opinions, advice, or positivity lol. I want to start applying this fall to start Fall 2017 in a 3 year SLP program since I'm out of field.

I graduated undergrad 3 years ago from a private school (not sure if that matters) with a B.A. in Psych. Due to certain circumstances(i.e. Having to work, homeless and having to sleep on friends couches, no money to afford books, etc) my GPA suffered and I graduated with a 2.8. I took the GRE and got a 152 in verbal and 145 in quant, with a 4.0 in writing. I am taking it again soon because I didn't study for that and know that if I do study I can get at least a 155 in both.

I don't have any relative work experience, but I have volunteered in numerous places such as a Montessori preschool, an assisted living home, a trauma department at a crisis center, and a mentor in a reading program for youth at a nonprofit. I am currently volunteering as a literacy tutor for adults and a ReadingPal for youth. I also plan on trying to get hours shadowing an SLP.

As far as LOR's, I've been out of school for awhile and really can only recount 1 professor who would actually remember me and be willing to write a positive LOR. I may be able to find some other professors outside of my major who were really nice and may be willing to help. Otherwise, any of my previous employers would give an excellent LOR if needed.

Any thoughts or advice would be awesome!

1. Do you have a higher GPA with the last 60 credits? There are schools that only look at the last 60 credits. You can find a list of them on this forum.

2. Make sure to explain (appropriately) why your GPA suffered in your POS.

3. Retaking the GRE is a great idea! 

4. I think your experience looks good.