Finishing my econ degree a semester early - want to go for a CS PhD

BackPropagandist

First off, I've enjoyed doing research very much during undergrad, I have solid career goals which require getting a PhD, and I have identified certain topics in computer science that I want to work on, so I'm confident that a CS PhD would be a good path for me.

However, I'm new to the subject; essentially I have a minor in math and several courses in computer science to be completed this fall, as well as some fairly technical research experience in machine ethics. I also have enough credits to graduate with my econ degree this fall.

I could apply for CS Master's programs which would start this spring and hope to transfer to a PhD later on, but this will probably be too difficult because my spring GPA was low (3.1, bad semester), I haven't proven myself in computer science yet (I only had one CS activity in the spring, the machine ethics project; I skipped the entry level courses and am now taking mid level courses), and I only know one professor well enough to get a very good letter of recommendation.

Alternatively, I could apply for graduate programs starting in the fall. If that happens I will have proven myself through fall coursework. But should I apply for an MS or should I apply directly for a PhD? And if I do this, what should I do for the spring - continue my undergrad for another semester taking more relevant classes, or leave to do research and self study on my own, or take some kind of internship? (Do my plans matter for admissions or should I do whatever I find personally useful?)

There is a lot for me to apply to in a short amount of time so I could use some help in simplifying what I should do. Thanks.

Edit: some more background info:

Did freshman and sophomore year at a junior college, A.A. political science, 3.4 GPA

Junior year at private university was a 3.6 GPA in the fall and 3.1 GPA in the spring. Getting B.S. in economics